ImageAs I turn the proverbial “corner” after chemo #2 of 8 and there is more hair covering every square foot of my house than is left on my head, I feel the need to remind myself of reasons chemo does NOT suck.

1) Naps. When you’re going through chemo, napping is completely acceptable and appropriate. And I’m not talking a little 20 minute nap after a long day at the office…I’m talking long, mid-afternoon naps, with no alarm waking you from your slumber.  It’s lustful.

2) Ellen. The Ellen Show is hilarious and heartwarming and is also realistically the only good show on day-time television.  I get to watch it and literally lol* every damn day. Thanks, Ellen.

*Here’s a funny story about “lol” that I just have to share.  Older people accepting and using technology, more specifically, internet slang inevitably hilarious.  Take this little gem of a story as an example…One of my friends mothers (who we’ll fondly call “Jenny” in order to escape ridicule) is drafting an email to her friends/family notifying them of funeral arrangements.  She writes a very nice, thoughtful and sentimental email and at the end signs it, “Hope to see you all at the viewing. Lol, Jenny”.  Everyone who receives this email is baffled as to why these funeral arrangements are making Jenny “laugh out loud”.  Hey, Jenny. LOL does not mean “lots of love”.  LOL

3) No hair. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to not be bald right now, but having hair is expensive. I could adopt a child with my money I’m saving on razors, waxing and hair products.  Plus its really awesome not having to shave your legs.

4) Snail Mail. People don’t send paper mail much anymore.  Unless its your birthday.  But I’ve received at least one card every single day since Sweet T v Cancer: Part Deux commenced. It’s such a treat to pull brightly colored envelopes out of your mailbox and hear from old friends, new friends, friends of friends everyday.  Also, anyone over 70…why and how is your handwriting EXACTLY the same??  Mind blown.

5)  Visitors. People are always wanting to come visit me! I don’t know if they feel obligated, sentimental, or if I’m just amazing company…but, either way, I’ll take it.

6) Opportunities. Chemo/cancer, although it has been quite disruptive to my mid to late 20’s, has also presented me with the opportunity to do things that I probably wouldn’t have had otherwise. The first time I was diagnosed, my wonderful Aunt Vic sent me to the Superbowl!  What??  Who does that?  It was one of the best memories of my life, watching the Steelers stomp the Cardinals.  This time around, I’ve decided to take medical leave and cash in on doing some things that I haven’t had the chance to focus on…like, teaching myself how to play the harmonica, starting a garden in my back yard and baking all the cupcakes my little heart desires.

7) Kindness and love. I know I’ve said this before, and it might sound a little bit silly, but I’m truly thankful and awed over the kindness and love that stupid cancer brings out in people. So, thank you, cancer, for grabbing all of us by the shoulders and shaking us until we realized how wonderful life is, how beautiful and deep our relationships are, and how effing special it is to be able to share everyday, no matter how simple, with those that we love.

Disclaimer:  Cancer and chemo do indeed blow a big one (sorry that was vulgar). This was supposed to be a Top 10 List, but I couldn’t come up with 3 more reasons to finish off the list.  I need to keep it real. And I don’t want you all to think that I’m living on a planet where all things are puppies and sunshine. I have bad days just like the rest of the world, I’m just choosing to focus on the good and not the bad.  That’s what gets me through.  I hope this encourages you all to do the same! 

Peace and Love,

Sweet T

